Jamies’s Italian in Edinburgh
Summer 2012 saw Jamie’s Italian restaurant opening in Edinburgh in the recently refurbished historic Assembly Rooms located in George St in the heart of the city.
This beautiful 18th C building is category A listed and one of the most important buildings of its type. Built in 1787 by John and David Henderson it was designed as a focal point for cultural and commercial life. The building has undergone an extensive 18 month restoration at a cost of over £9m to restore the key function rooms to their original splendour.
du Boulay has completed the fitout of a Jamies’s Italian located in the old Supper Rooms and Edinburgh Suite on the ground floor of the Assembly Rooms. Designers Martin Brudnizki Design Studio were given the brief of retaining and restoring the stunning 18th C features while at the same time incorporating the signature trademarks that make up a Jamie’s Italian.
In the crimson walled and high ceilinged Supper Rooms we have brought back to glory the intricate stucco plasterwork and cornicing which had previously been covered up. New joinery has been installed to complement the existing interiors for the bar and anti pasti food preparation along with a beautiful oak parquet floor and large antique mirrors to match the retained original examples.
The Edinburgh Suite has been given a more contemporary Jamie’s touch with us of salvaged scaffold planks and blackened steel architectural metalwork to the entrance lobbies. An impressive open kitchen allows diners to feel part of the cooking experience.